Linda R. Yañez

Judge Linda R. YanezLinda Reyna Yañez, appointed by Gov. Ann Richards in 1993, is the first Hispanic Woman to serve on an appeals court in the history of the state of Texas and is the first woman to serve on the 13th Court of Appeals.

Previously she taught at the Harvard Law School. She has served on and chaired numerous committees and boards, for the State Bar Associations in Texas, Illinois and Massachusetts and nationally the American Bar Association. She is licensed in Texas and Illinois and practiced extensively in both the state and federal courts. She served as consulting attorney to the Mexican Consul Generals in Brownsville, Texas and Boston, Massachusetts and on the Legal Advisory Committee of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees. She has worked extensively on refugee issues with United Nations NGO's and other organizations traveling to Switzerland, the former Soviet Union and Latin America. She served as Regional Counsel to the Mexican American Legal Defense Fund. She has been a guest lecturer at the Law School at the University of Valencia in Valencia, Spain.

Judge Yañez received her LLM from the University of Virginia Law School, Juris Doctor from Texas Southern University Law School and her Bachelor of Arts from the University of Texas Pan American.

Judge Yañez has the distinction of being named "Outstanding Lawyer" and "Lawyer of the Year" by the Mexican American Bar Association of Texas and "Outstanding Alumnus" by the Houston Latino Lawyers and Law Students Association and is recipient of the "Lifetime Achievement Award" of the Hispanic Bar Association. In 2001, she received the "Reynaldo Garza Lifetime Achievement Award" by the Hispanic Issues Section of the State Bar of Texas and in 2006 the Section bestowed upon her the Pioneer Award.

Judge Yañez was elected to the American Law Institute in 2003. She has served on the Committee on International Judgements and Jurisdiction and on the Committee on Revisions to the Model Penal Code, Sentencing Project. She also has the distinction of being appointed to the faculty of the National Judicial College in 2006.