Fernando Colon-Navarro
Thurgood Marshall School of Law
Co-Director Institute for International and Immigration Law
Professor of Law

Phone: (713) 313-1918
Email: Fernando Colon-Navarro


  • LL.M., Harvard Law School
  • Ed.M., Harvard Graduate School of Education
  • J.D., University of Minnesota Law School
  • B.A., St. John's University

Emeka Duruigbo
Co-Director Institute for International and Immigration Law
Professor of Law
Phone (713) 313-1135
Fax: (713) 313-1049
Email: eduruigbo@tmslaw.tsu.edu


  • LL.B., University of Benin, Nigeria
  • LL.M., University of Alberta, Canada
  • S.J.D., Golden Gate University, San Francisco
  • Fellow, Stanford Law School

Institute Fellows are students selected to assist in the programming and management of the Institute. Present Institute
Fellows are:

Dr. Juandalyn Taylor.
Dr. Taylor, a third year law student has her Ph.D from the University of Texas at Austin in Speech Communication, a
Masters from Texas Christian University, and her Bachelors degree from the University of Texas at Arlington. Prior to
joining the student body at TMSL, Dr. Taylor taught at the University of North Texas, the University of Idaho, and
Xavier University in New Orleans.

Ms. Jozette Maxwell.
Ms. Maxwell received her Masters of Public Administration from St. Mary’s University and her Bachelors of Arts
from Texas Southern University. Her experience includes a variety of legislative positions. She has served as the Chief
of Staff for Texas State Representative Sylvester Turner, and as the Director of Constituent Services for Texas
Congressman Lloyd Doggett.