Dannnye K. Holley, Dean and Professor of Law

External Scholarships


The Bailey Clarke Bar Scholarship was created in 2017 by Thurgood Marshall School of Law Alums, Vonda Bailey and Peter Clarke, to assist third year law students with expenses while sitting for the Texas February or July Bar Exam. Over $35,000 in Bar Scholarships have been awarded!

 Eligibility Criteria

  • Must be a third year law student at either the Thurgood Marshall School of Law or UNT Dallas College of Law
  • Sitting for the 2022 Texas February or July Bar Exam

 How to Apply:

Please read the fact pattern attached

All submissions are due no later than October 15, 2021 by 11:59 pm. No late submissions will be considered; no exceptions

Bridging the Dream Scholarship for Graduate Students:

Ten scholarships, totaling up to $100,000, are available for current graduate students from underserved or marginalized communities, including minority, LGBTQ+, low-income, and first-generation college students. To be eligible, students must be a U.S. citizen or legal permanent resident currently enrolled at least half-time at an accredited graduate level program. Interested applicants will be required to upload a short video about their passion for advancing social justice. Students can apply today at salliemae.com/landing/bridging-the-dream-for-graduates/. The deadline date is 10/25/21.

2021 Texas Health Law Conference Law Student Scholarship

About the scholarship: The Health Law Section of the State Bar of Texas is sponsoring virtually the 34th annual Texas Health Law Conference on October 11-12, 2021. The Health Law Section is offering scholarship to up to two (2) Thurgood Law students who are interested in health law and who may have an interest in attending this year's Texas Health Law Conference. The SBOT Health Law Section appreciates the challenging times that it may be for law students and want to extend this learning opportunity to them. Additional details about the conference and the Health Law Section can be found at www.texhealthlaw.org (click on the icon for the health law conference to access the agenda and other information). For over ten years this scholarship program has been in place, the law school students who have attended found it to be a rewarding experience for both their educational and networking opportunities.

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Enrolled Thurgood Marshall Law School student interested in Health Law

 Application Materials

  • Resume

  • Essay (500 word maximum) – see essay question below


  • Respond to the following question in an essay of 500 words or fewer:

  • Describe your interest in Health Law and why you want to attend this conference

Application Deadline:

  • Sunday, September 26th, 2021

Apply through Symplicity

The Bankruptcy Law Section for the State Bar of Texas is offering a $2,500 scholarship and admission to the Annual Jay L. Westbrook Bankruptcy Conference to diverse law students who are committed to pursuing a career in the bankruptcy/insolvency field. Download the application (pdf) Deadline Octoberr 15, 2021
Women Professionals in Government (WPG) is a 501c3 organization which offers networking opportunities, knowledge, skills, and informative luncheons to support and develop careers in public policy and government. 

WPG provides two $1500 scholarship opportunities, annually, to young women pursuing degrees in government and public policy. We welcome any student at Texas Southern University - Thurgood Marshall School of Law that meets the criteria to apply. Deadline is October 29, 2021.

Scholarship info: https://wpghouston.com/scholarships 

Hon. Arlander Keys Scholarship
The Richard Linn Inn of the American Inns of Courtis proud to offerits Hon. Arlander Keys Scholarship for Law Students. This scholarship is part of The Richard Linn Inn’s commitment to fostering the development intellectual property lawyers of high ethics, civility and professionalism, and especially thosefrom diverse backgrounds. Deadline October 1, 2021
Download the application

2021 Minority Law Student Scholarship Sponsored By J.l. Turner Legal Association Foundation

For more than two decades, the J. L. Turner Legal Association Foundation has awarded scholarships to minority law students attending law school or who are from the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex. Sponsorships from the Annual Scholarship and Awards Gala are used to fund the scholarships. There are two distinct types of JLTLA Foundation Minority Law Student Scholarships: MERIT-BASED and FINANCIAL NEED. Download the application

  • United States Citizen Or Permanent Legal Resident

  • Currently Enrolled In An Aba-Accredited Law School In The United States As A Part-Time Or Full-Time Student

  • Good Academic Standing At The Law School (Proof Of Academic Standing Is Required

  • A Minimum Gpa Of 3.0 For A Merit Scholarship Or 2.5 For A Financial Need Scholarship

  • Second Or Third Year Minority Law Student From The Dfw Metroplex Or Attending Law School In The Dfw Metroplex

  • Scholarship Winners Are Expected To Attend, Virtual Or In-Person, The J.l. Turner Legal Association Foundation Gala (Saturday, November 13, 2021) To Accept The Scholarship Award

****Deadline: Friday, October 8, 2021 At 5:00 Pm CST****

**Incomplete Applications Will Not Be Considered

**All Materials Must Be In The Possession Of The Foundation By Deadline

Find Scholarships for College for FREE | Fastweb
AccessLex law School Scholarship Databank
Scholarship Databank | AccessLex
American Bar Association Legal Opportunity Scholarship
Legal Opportunity Scholarship Fund (americanbar.org) 
Hispanic Scholarship Fund
HSF: Scholarship

The National Data Base of Scholarships
Scholarships.Free Scholarships, Grants for College, Fellowships for College (free-4u.com)
College Board
College Scholarship Search | Find scholarships for students from over 2,200 programs (collegeboard.org)



Back to Top of the Page

© 2021 Thurgood Marshall School of Law. All Rights Reserved.
3100 Cleburne Street, Houston, TX 77004 Ph: 713.313.4455  Fax: 713.313.1049